National Preservation Month, sponsored by the National Trust of Historic Places, was celebrated by Proclamation within the Village of Villa Park and across America during the month of May. This year's theme is "Discover America's Hidden Gems." Villa Park's Annual Historic Plaque Award Program awards were in the Historic Preservation category.
At the April 23, 2012 Village Board meeting, the Villa Park Historic Preservation Commission announced the recipients of this year's annual Historic Plaque awards.
David and Jill Downer received a Historic Preservation plaque for their large, brick Bungalow-style house, built in 1928. Situated on the north part of lot 11 in the Scharlau Acres 2nd Addition subdivision, it is located at 727 S. Villa Avenue. It is named the O'DOWD HOUSE for its first owner.
Alfred and Valerie Flammini received a Historic Preservation plaque for their attractive, solidly-built brick two-story Georgian Revival-style house. It is located at 113 E. Madison Street and is part of the Robertson's Madison St. Subdivision of Ardmore. It is named the SALZMAN HOUSE after its original owner and was built in 1947 by A.L. Salzman & Sons, local Chicago area builders. Marshall Salzman had lived in this house for several years.
The present owners and caretakers are commended for their contributions to the community and for the preservation and maintenance of these important structures that links the past with the future of Villa Park. These buildings are significant to the history and development of the Village of Villa Park and contribute to its character and heritage.
Michael Bailey Jr., a Jackson Middle School student and member of St. Alexander's parish, was presented with a Certificate of Appreciation for his contribution to the commission's Heisen Subdivisions Survey Project.
Carol Marcus, Alfred & Valerie Flammini, David Downer, Ellen Stortz, Michael, Bailey, Jan Stortz