2015 Historic Preservation Award Recipients

National Historic Preservation Month was celebrated in May in Villa Park and across the country. At the June 8th Village Board Meeting, four Historic Plaques were issued by the Historical Preservation Commission, chaired by Carol Marcus. This year's theme was Past Forward!

Larry Calvert and James Bergmann received a Historic Preservation Award for their custom built c.1930 Bungalow style brick home that is named the STRAHL HOUSE after its first owner, who was a movie projectionist. It is located on 356 South Michigan Ave. and boasts lovely art glass windows and an arched entry.

Matt Vriesema received a Historic Preservation Award for his two story brick c.1927 Dutch Tudor style house that is named the BARROWCLIFF HOUSE, after its first owner who was a civil engineer. It is located on 311 South Summit Ave. and was featured on a local house walk. It has a Porte cohere with carriage doors, a steeply pitched roof, and was professionally landscaped,

Stephen and Heidi Trimper received a Historic Landmark Award for their c.1915 custom built Arts and Craft style house that is named the WILKENLOH HOUSE, after its first owner who was a sign maker. Robert Manard was the Oak Park architect who designed this home that has lovely woodwork and built-ins. It is located at 267 S. Villa Ave.

Lisa Majerchin received a Sears House Award for her quaint and charming frame c.1921 Bungalow cottage style house that is an early Rodessa model. There is a lovely perennial garden in the front yard and mature evergreens. It is located on 263 S. Villa Ave.

These present owners and caretakers are commended for their preservation and maintenance of these important structures that links the past with the future of Villa Park. These buildings are significant to the history and development of the Village and contribute to its character and heritage. The Historical Museum features these four homes in a window display.

Prepared by Carol Marcus – VPHPC Chair - May 30, 2015

Recipient Group Recipient Group
Stephen and Heidi Trimper Larry Calvert and James Bergmann
Recipient Group Recipient Group
Matt Vriesema Lisa Majerchin
Recipient Group
2015 Historic Preservation Award Recipients