National Preservation Month, sponsored by the National Trust of Historic Places, was celebrated by Proclamation within the Village and across America during the month of May. This year's theme is "Making Preservation Work".
Villa Park's Annual Historic Plaque Award Program includes awards for Historic Preservation, Historic Landmark and Sears Catalog Home categories.
At the April 23, 2007 Village Board meeting, the Villa Park Historic Preservation Commission announced the seven recipients of this year's annual Historic Plaque awards.
Lou and Muffie LeMieux for their historic c.1910 American Four-square style located at 333 E. Highland Avenue. This house was one of the first homes built by early developer Charles Heisen in the Villa subdivision. It has many bay windows and a large, sweeping front porch. It is named the Sculley House after its original owner.
James and Jean Vrchota for their unique 1927 English Tudor style house located at 537 S. Illinois Avenue. It features leaded windows, stone and brick construction and a massive chimney. It is named the Watt House after its original owner.
Carole Ann and David Colby, Sr. for their very large c.1890 Victorian house located at 17W437 Hill Street. It was originally located at 201 S. York Street in Elmhurst, IL and had been donated to Immaculate Conception Church. In the 1960's, Tom Lynch purchased the house and had it moved in two pieces to this large Suburb Hill subdivision lot in Villa Park. Ornate trim adorn the windows
Jim Protine for his Sears Catalog Home Hollywood model, built in 1919 at 329 E. Park Boulevard. This large two-story stucco house has a large front porch and stone chimney on the outside wall. Its interior has many built-in features and original woodwork.
Joseph and Karen Cericola for their Sears Catalog Home Hollywood model, built in 1927 at 314 S. Riverside Drive. This house has a very large front porch and many craftsman details.
Virginia Wade and Ed Riegert for their Sears Catalog Home Sherburne model built in 1920 at 318 S. Myrtle Avenue. It is a large two-story house boasts nine foot ceilings and charm.
Michael and Dawn Keating for their Sears Catalog Home Barrington model built in 1927 at 102 N. 3rd Avenue. It has a third floor attic and a front entry with a peaked dormer.
The present owners and caretakers are commended for their contributions to the community and for the preservation and maintenance of these important structures that links the past with the future of Villa Park. These buildings are significant to the history and development of the Village of Villa Park and contribute to its character and heritage.